Social Services revamped in 2020

Social Services revamped in 2020

As of Jan. 1, Grant, Sioux and Morton counties have undergone the redesign of social services and the creation of a human service zone.

In 2019, the Legislature passed SB 2124, also known as social services redesign. The bill allows for the funding of social services with state dollars and the creation of 19 social service zones in North Dakota. The legislation, in turn, eliminated the local property tax levy counties used to fund social services, providing a savings to property owners across the state.

“It is important to understand, all social service offices in the courthouses or county buildings will remain open and function as they have. The social service redesign zone concept does not reduce access locations,” said N.D. Association of Counties Executive Director Terry Traynor.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

Grant County News

GS Publishing
P.O. Box 100,
Elgin, ND 58533

Phone: 701-584-2900
Fax: 701-584-2900